20211017_143755-2.jpg
©Terra Ostra

The 7 ports of Gujan-Mestras

The town of Gujan-Mestras boasts an extensive seafront, stretching 7 kilometers from east to west, with 7 ports, each different from the next, hence the resort’s nickname of “town of 7 ports”.

Port de la Hume

The port of La Hume is fed by the Canal des Landes. In the 19th century, it was home to a few sailors’ huts, before gradually becoming an oyster-farming port, one of whose docks was transformed into a marina in 1985.

Today, the port of La Hume, with its nearby supervised beach, is a popular place to relax and stroll.

Port de Meyran

Situated on the edge of the estey de Meyran, known as the “old port channel”, the Port de Meyran was for many years a beaching port.

Dedicated to fishing and oyster farming, the port of Meyran served as a terminal from 1919 to 1935 for the railway line that transported timber from the forests of Gironde and Landes to the mines in England.

Today, it is the most important oyster port in Gujan-Mestras.

Port of Gujan

In 1843, the “ Gujanais baths ” were built at the end of a 450-metre footbridge.

It became known as Port de la Passerelle. At the beginning of the 20th century, after the establishment had closed, it reverted to its original name, Port de Gujan.

Port de Larros

The port of Larros was built in 1883. It is 110 meters long and 60 meters wide.

Larros was an important fishing port between the wars, particularly for sardines. In 1891, the sailors’ cross was installed at the end of a jetty known as “Christ’s Jetty “.

Today, this port is the most emblematic of Gujan-Mestras, with its oyster huts, oyster tastings and renowned shipyards.

The port of Larros is also home to the Maison de l’Huître, an oyster museum for families to visit and learn all about oyster cultivation, the oyster-farming trade…

In summer, don’t miss the ” Larros Thursdays “! Every Thursday in July and August, free concerts and shows are offered in a festive and friendly atmosphere.

Port du Canal

The harbor was originally dug around 1850 to build the dike leading to the Mestras baths.

With a width of 10m, it was similar in structure to a canal, hence its name. With the development of sardine fishing and oyster farming, it was transformed into a port. Today, it’s one of the busiest. You can walk to the end of the docks and admire the view over the Bay of Arcachon.

Port de la Barbotière

The Port de la Barbotière was created in the 18th century. Originally, it was called “ Port de Mestras “.

In the 1900s, a cold bath establishment was built for bathing enthusiasts, and the port was named “La Barbotière”. The name stuck. Today, it’s the oldest port in Gujan-Mestras. It is home to the headquarters of the Comité Régional de la Conchyliculture (CRCAA).

Port de la Mole

Port de la Mole is the smallest harbor in Gujan-Mestras. It borders the fish tank and salt meadows. There is no oyster-farming activity in this port, as it has never been dug out and remains difficult to access. Here, you can admire a wild landscape and try to find the remains of the “grindstone” of an ancient mill that gave the port its name.

Since 2016, a commemorative stele has been erected in memory of a crew of 7 American aviators on B17 42-37872, which crashed on January 5, 1944 in the Bassin opposite Gujan-Mestras.